HELP: Batch Expired, Batch Extensions, and How to Avoid Paying Again

Discussion in 'Requesters' started by Tanya Gosselin, Apr 25, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Tanya Gosselin

Tanya Gosselin New Turker

Ratings:
    +2
    My name is Tanya. I am currently doing research and use MTurk to post surveys. I am new to Mturk, so I'm reaching out to you all, especially if you've had a similar experience.

I prepaid for 200 assignments at $2 per HIT. I let the survey go on for 7 days but I did not reach my goal of 200 assignments. We still have money left over and assignments that needed to be done. Thus, we were doubting as to what to do. Our question was if we should have extended the batch or created a new batch with a new qualification to get more people to do our assignment in a shorter amount of time?

However, we took action. We the edited batch qualifications and published it. This created a "new" batch and survey link. However, it charged us more money and I'm not sure why. We believed that we would be using the remaining balance we already have, but it charged us more money. We realized we made a mistake, but we don't know how we could have avoided it.

We canceled this new batch, but we got participants in seconds. This survey takes 10 minutes to do and participants did it in about 2 minutes. We have revised the data and have seen that it is not viable data.

I have two questions:

1. What can I do to get the money back?
    2. If I reject the workers that did not give us viable data, do they still get paid?
    3. If workers don't get paid, am I able to get the money that wasn't used back into my bank account?

And in general, if you have any tips for the next time, that would be great.

I highly appreciate your time. I am looking for an answer everywhere but Mturk FAQ doesn't have it and customer service is slow. I'm still shaking my head at my own mistake.

• WOW WOW x 2
  2. ChrisTurk

ChrisTurk Administrator

Ratings:
    +162,927