[Please Help!] How to get 36 people online at the same time (multiplayer game)

Discussion in 'Help & Guides' started by Abdullah, Apr 9, 2017.

1. Abdullah

Abdullah AGEIRIHRRYV6P

Ratings:
    +630
    Hi everyone,

I am a noob requester and I would like to get some feedback and help on running an online multiplayer game on MTurk. The game requires 36 people to be online simultaneously (players are randomized across across different conditions).

So far, I tried to notify a panel of turkers and post on forums about the upcoming experiment time. I then posted a batch of 45 HITs with a link to our platform. In this HIT, the base pay was $2 and one can earn up to $8 of bonuses based on performance. The bonus varied across conditions, as some conditions had higher average play time.

The first 36 workers who clicked the link and passed the attention checks played the game. For the surplus workers (9 workers), they received the base pay of $2 and went to the exit survey directly. I also gave the workers the option to leave the lobby after 3 minutes in case the game didn't start (they also received the base pay of $2 should they decide to leave or they get the option to remain in the lobby and continue waiting).

This hasn't been a huge success the last time I tried it. It took 30 minutes for the game to accumulate enough players to start. As many people left after waiting for 3 minutes in the lobby. I also had to submit another batch of 20 HITs to keep pumping people in.

I am wondering if there is a better way to do this. One way I've been thinking about is the following: