best way to run attention checks?

Discussion in 'Requesters' started by oliviakim509, Jan 12, 2021.

?

Would you prefer an attention check where:

1. There is more text on the screen, but the answer to the attention check is always visible.

2 vote(s)
    33.3%
  2. The only text on the screen is the attention check question and the possible responses.

4 vote(s)
    66.7%
  3. Other (would appreciate it if you could comment what you would prefer)

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. oliviakim509

oliviakim509 New Turker

Ratings:
    +2
    Hi y'all! I am a university researcher who is pretty new to mTurk, and I am trying to improve my HITs as much as possible. I hear back from workers that I give too many attention checks, but I need to run these checks so that I can interpret my data later. I am hoping to make the attention checks less annoying, and was wondering what you guys thought would be better (poll above):

Last edited: Jan 12, 2021
  2. Slowdive

Slowdive Active Turker

Ratings:
    +1,549
    I think it sort of depends on the nature of the study and the type of attention checks you're using. Are they something like "Choose Option 3" or are they asking a specific question about a text?

3. oliviakim509

oliviakim509 New Turker

Ratings:
    +2
    They're asking a specific question about the task instructions. This is the current text of one attention check for an experiment where we ask people to try to move the mouse to a pink target when there is a misleading "fake" cursor on the screen:

"Instructions and Attention Check

The green dot is not under your control.
    It will still move at the same time as you, but it could go somewhere else.
    Do your best to IGNORE the green dot.
    Always aim for the pink target.

Press x if you should ignore the green dot and aim straight for the pink target.
    Press y if you should aim away from the pink target to try to get the green dot to hit the target.

[option to press x] [option to press y]"