Is my study bot-safe?

Discussion in 'Requesters' started by Stefan Taubert, Apr 21, 2023.

1. Stefan Taubert

Stefan Taubert New Turker

Ratings:
    +6
    Hello everyone,

I'm writing my doctoral thesis on the topic of speech synthesis and want to evaluate how synthesized speech samples are perceived in terms of their naturalness and intelligibility. Therefore, I designed a study in which the workers have to listen to eight audio files and rate both aspects on a scale from 1 to 5.

I'm new to mTurk and my first try of that study unfortunately didn't go well as almost only bots submitted HITs. For this reason I had to reject ~95% of the assignments.

The failed study
    I set the acceptance rate to >=85% and the country to USA because only native American English speakers should participate (for linguistic reasons). I didn't place any other restrictions on participation. One HIT took around 90s to complete and I provided 60 HITs with a maximum of 9 assignments for each HIT. There were three bonuses depending on the number of HITs completed and the quality of ratings compared to all workers:

• base reward: $0.10 (~$4/hour)
    • bonus of $0.10/HIT (for a total of $0.20/HIT, ~$8/hour) if you submit 20 or more HITs or
    • bonus of $0.30/HIT (for a total of $0.40/HIT, ~$16/hour) if you submit 20 or more HITs and your results are among the top 50% or
    • bonus of $0.50/HIT (for a total of $0.60/HIT, ~$24/hour) if you submit 20 or more HITs and your results are among the top 10%.
    After I started the survey, new assignments came in almost immediately that were clearly non-human, as one have to read the instructions for at least 5 minutes to know what to do. All 9 assignments per HIT (540 assignments) were done after about an hour!

I filtered out and rejected all bot-like submissions (these were almost all assignments). For the rest, I couldn't find a justifiable reason to reject them, but I suspect they were bot responses as well.

The new study